UPL: Troubled Kisala Blames Team Doctor As Express Fall To Police


Monday, February 4
Express FC 0-2 Police FC

Kefa Kisala has showed his disappointment to the club doctor as Express suffered a 2-0 defeat to Police FC in a StarTimes Uganda Premier League game played on Monday.

Juma Balinya and Johnson Odong scored a goal each to give the Peace Keepers a deserved win at Betway Muteesa II Stadium.

Express finished the game with ten men after Tony Odur picked a shoulder injury following a collision with Joseph Ssentamu.

It can happen for any team to lose a game but I think we have the team doctor to blame for this loss,” Said Kefa Kisala after the game.

We wanted to replace Odur when he got injured but the doctor told us that the player was fine, and we conceded that last goal when we were a man down.”

With Express trailing 1-0, Odur came from the bench to replace Ibrahim Kayiwa in the 55th minute. Odur collided with Ssentamu but it is alleged that Express’ doctor signaled the technical bench that the player will continue.

Consequently, Kefa used his last substitute when Roben Kabuye replaced Badru Nsubuga, but few minutes later, Odur failed to continue and the Red Eagles had to finish the game with ten men.

It was disappointing to play with a man down for that long, I believe we would have managed to change the result if that incident did not happen.”

The loss, sixth in the season, sees Express slip to tenth place with 21 points. Next for Express is a trip to Njeru to face BUL FC on Sunday, February 10.

RELATED:   Uganda Cup: Late Kayiwa Header Lifts Express Over Resilient Water

Police FC jumps to seventh with 24 points from 17 games. The side will return to action on Sunday, February 9 against Ndejje at Lugogo.

Teams Used

Express FC
Ronald Mutebi, John Revita, Disan Galiwango, Shafic Kakeeto, Arthur Kiggundu, Lawrence Kigonya, Frank Zaga Tumwesigye, Badru Nsubuga, Michael Birungi, Ibrahim Kayiwa, Brian Umony

Police FC
Davis Mutebi, Paul Willa, Edgar Bwogi, Joseph Sentume, Arafat Galiwango, Ashraf Mugume, Hassan Kalega, Edward Kiryowa, Pius Kaggwa, Juma Balinya, Johnson Odong