On 22nd August 2018, Kenya Rugby Union announced the return of the Safari 7s, slated for 9th-11th November.  A host of teams were invited and as we approach the game weekend, 12 teams have been confirmed for the 3 day tournament.

The 12 teams are headlined by HSBC Sevens World Series core team, Spain. The Europeans ranked 11th at the end of the 2017-2018 World Series. Alongside Spain, there will be four other distinct national sides i.e 2016 and 2017 Africa champions Uganda, Namibia, Portugal and Burkina Faso. Other teams that will play in Nairobi include Apache Sevens(UK), Red Wailers(UK) and Samurai Sevens(UK), Cobras(SA). Kenya will assemble the reigning Stanbic Bank National Sevens Circuit champions Homeboyz, alongside Morans and Shujaa.

The 2018 edition of the Safari Sevens will take a 12 team format. This is in line with other international events like the Olympics and the recently concluded Commonwealth Games and will provide both competition and entertainment over the 2 days of the main event. This format sees three pools, with each having four teams. The top two teams in each of the two pools advances to the quarterfinals with the 8 completed by the best two third placed teams.

The Pools of the Safari 7s are expected to be named soon.


RELATED:   Safari 7s : Uganda confirmed for November fete

Comment List

Comments are closed.