InternationalRugbyRugby World Cup

Rugby World Cup Fact File : Australia

Australia, also known as the Wallabies, are one of rugby’s traditional powerhouses, one of the three teams that make up the trio of the southern hemisphere nations that have upheld and dominated the sport of rugby.

Australia has endured quite the unimpressive form in recent years but always seem to find the right gear when it comes to rugby world cup years with 2019 showing the same rhythm yet again.

The Wallabies

Their highest finish / triumph at a rugby world cup has been as winners, twice in fact ; 1991 and 1999. They are currently positioned at 6th in the world rugby rankings as they kick off their campaign.

Australia find themselves in Pool D alongside Wales, Fiji, Georgia and Uruguay in a group that they are highly fancied to top albeit a Wales challenge that will have something to say about it as the two teams reunite from duels of being in the same pool four years ago.

The Wallabies are a proud rugby nation that has seen a lot of greats wear the green and gold of the Trans-Tasman nation and have set the world rugby stage alight. The likes of George Gregan, John Eales and George Smith have all set a standard that the wallabies have come to be known by at the global stage.

The great John Eales. Photo courtesy of the Telegraph

The 2019 chapter

Michael Hooper will have the honor to captain the 31 man strong squad into the world cup in Japan with a team desperate to prove their class having struggled for years in the shadows of their immensely talented neighbors; New Zealand.

Michael Hooper

The squad comprises of many big names such as David Pocock who recovered in time to make the team along with the return of prodigal son; James O’Connor. A lot more responsibility sits on the shoulders of senior figures such as  Kurtley Beale and Reece Hodge due to the controversial out casting of reliable talisman Israel Folau.

Pocock’s skills and wealth of experience will be immensely vital

Coach Michael Cheika will be well aware that the 2019 rugby world cup edition could be his last involvement with the green and gold of Australia, and therefore a last chance to do one better than 2015 and win the trophy. A dismal campaign would surely see him get the sack having come under tons of criticism – a lot rests on Cheika and his team to disprove all the naysayers.

The Wallabies squad to feature in Japan 2019

Comment here