Refreshed Scotland name team to battle Springboks

After laying down the law on a hapless Fiji last weekend, Scotland will return to Murray field with a bigger task this weekend against a vibrant Springboks side under the tutelage of coach Rassie Erasmus.


Scotland Head Coach Gregor Townsend has made six changes to the starting side to face South Africa on Saturday. Scotland last faced the Springboks in the Pool rounds of Rugby World Cup 2015 where they lost to the African side. Recent history has shown the Scots often fall short whenever they meet their South African counterparts and this will be one of the records that the northern hemisphere outfit will be out to sort.


Huw Jones returns at centre while the pack features five changes in the form of London Irish prop Gordon Reid who is set to make his first involvement in the autumn campaign as the starting loosehead, Stuart McInally and Jonny Gray return from the bench to start once more, while Ben Toolis and Hamish Watson come back into the match-day squad and straight to the first xv. The last change sees Sam Skinner, who started at lock against Fiji, feature at blind-side flank.

“South Africa have made a lot of improvements over the last three or four months, beating the All Blacks in New Zealand and putting in an 80-minute performance to defeat France in Paris, which underlines their quality.”

“Their traditional strength has always been their physicality and this remains a key point of difference for them. We expect them to be confrontational and powerful in their ball carrying, their defence and also at set-piece time. It will be a great challenge for our forward pack in particular.” Said Gregor Townsend as told by the Scottish rugby website.

Scotland team to play South Africa at Murrayfield

15. Stuart Hogg – VICE CAPTAIN
14. Tommy Seymour
13. Huw Jones
12. Pete Horne
11. Sean Maitland
10. Finn Russell
9. Greig Laidlaw – CAPTAIN

1. Gordon Reid
2. Stuart McInally – VICE CAPTAIN
3. Willem Nel
4. Ben Toolis
5. Jonny Gray
6. Sam Skinner
7. Hamish Watson
8. Ryan Wilson

16. Fraser Brown
17. Allan Dell
18. Simon Berghan
19. Josh Strauss
20. Jamie Ritchie
21. Ali Price
22. Adam Hastings
23. Chris Harris