Magomu, the Wokorach boys make the Elgon Cup squad

Ivan Magomu, Philip and Michael Wokorach all return to the Uganda Rugby Cranes squad in the second leg of the Elgon Cup as Uganda gets ready to take on Kenya.

In a team named by Uganda’s Team Manager Robert Omona, there were four changes from the side that traveled to Kisumu and managed a 16-13 win. Ivan Magomu comes in for Robert Masendi, Michael Wokorach replaces the injured Jordan Bongomin with Philip Wokorach taking the slot that was occupied by Jinja Hippos whizkid Maxwell Ebonga for the Elgon Cup return leg. There is a change in the forwards that sees Hima Cement Heathens’ Mike Otto come in for the injured workhorse, Byron Oketayot.

“The camp is in high spirits, save for a few injuries here and there. But training has been going well, and as you know there is more than one game to look forward to,” said Rugby Cranes TM Omona Robert.

“Ever since we came back from Kisumu, all seems well and we should all expect the best,” said Rugby Cranes coach Robert Seguya.

“The team has been selected on merit and I believe it’ll deliver. There’s of course a few changes because of the rotation.”

Elgon Cup Second Leg – Saturday, 13th July 2019 

Lady Cranes Vs Kenya Lionesses – 2:00pm

Rugby Cranes Vs Kenya Simbas – 4:30pm

RELATED:   Gold Cup Rugby - The rights and wrongs of Uganda against Tunisia


Rugby Cranes Squad:

Ssenteza Santos, Saul Kivumbi, Asuman Mugerwa(C), Kimbowa Collin, Kanyanya Ronald, Kagimu Joseph, Uhuru Charles, Aziku Robert , Olet Simon Diego, Ayera Desire, Asaba Brian (VC) Emong Eliphaz, Mike Otto


Aaron Ofoywroth, Epilo Paul, Magomu Ivan, Pius Ogena, Ian Munyani, Wokorach Michael, Masendi Paul, Semwami Daudi, Kasito Adrian, Philip Wokorach.


Lady Cranes squad:


1.Faith Namugga 2.Yvonne Najjuma 3.Evelyn Weku 4.Atimango Charity 5.Winnie Atyanga(C) 6.Helen Gizamba 7.Ayot Mary 8.Beatrice Atim 9.Charlotte Mudoola 10.Clare Aneno 11.Christine Akello 12.Peace Lekuru 13.Asha Nakityo 14.Julie Nandawula 15.Samiya Ayikoru


16.Peace Mirembe 17.Warry Senfuka 18.Irene Nzige 19.Christine Nakayiza 20.Teddy Iwutung 21.Lydia Namabiro 22.Esther Tino 23.John Andika


Comment here