Lady Cranes playing schedule at the Rugby Africa Women’s Cup

Lady Cranes are in South Africa, set to play the best women’s team in 15s rugby and the schedule sees them play South Africa, Kenya and Madagascar.

Lady Cranes will begin their campaign to participate in the 2021 Women’s Rugby World Cup in New Zealand against the hosts South Africa this Friday, 9th August 2019 at 4pm (east African time) at the Bosman Stadium in Johannesburg. Day 2 of the Qualifiers, 13th August 2019 will see the Lady Cranes lining up against Kenya Lionesses in a third meeting in less than two months, before closing the qualification process against Madagascar on Saturday, 17th August at 2pm.

The winner of the tournament will qualify directly for the Women’s Rugby World Cup which will take place in New-Zealand in 2021. The team ranked 2nd at the conclusion of the tournament will play a play-off match against a selected team from South America; the winner of this match will compete in a 4-team global repechage tournament in 2020.

South Africa, ranked 11th in the wolrd are Africa’s best placed team, with Kenya 2nd in Africa but 28th in the whole world. Uganda rank 6th on the continent, behind Namibia, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

African Qualifiers for the Women’s Rugby World Cup

9 August 2019

Madagascar vs Kenya -2pm
Referee: Saudah Adiru (Uganda) Assessor: Alhambra Nievas (Spain)

South Africa vs Uganda -4pm
Referee: Precious Pazani (Zimbabwe) Assessor: Alhambra Nievas (Spain)

13 August 2019

Kenya vs Uganda -2pm
Referee: Ashleigh Murray (South Africa) Assessor: Alhambra Nievas (Spain)

Madagascar vs South Africa -4pm
Referee: Saudah Adiru (Uganda) Assessor: Alhambra Nievas (Spain)

RELATED:   Improvement for Lady Cranes is coming - Lemerigar

17 August 2019

Madagascar vs Uganda -2pm
Referee: Ashleigh Murray (South Africa) Assessor: Alhambra Nievas (Spain)

South Africa vs Kenya  -4pm
Referee:  Precious Pazani (Zimbabwe) Assessor: Alhambra Nievas (Spain)

Lady Rugby Cranes team:

1. Faith Namugga (Entebbe Lady Swans) 2. Yvonne Najjuma (Thunderbirds) 3. Evelyn Aweku (Thunderbirds) 4. Charity Atimango (Thunderbirds) 5. Winnie Atyang (Thunderbirds – captain) 6. Hellen Gizamba (Thunderbirds) 7. Mary Gloria Ayot (Black Pearls) 8. Beatrice Lamunu Atim (Entebbe Lady Swans)  9. Juliet Nandawula (Entebbe Lady Swans) 10. Claire Anena (Thunderbirds) 11. Harriet Kayonjo (Thunderbirds) 12. Peace Lekuru (Entebbe Lady Swans – assistant captain) 13. Asha Nakityo Nabulime (Thunderbirds) 14. Emmanuela Oroma (Black Pearls) 15. Samiya Ayikoru (Thunderbirds) 16. Peace Mirembe (Black Pearls) 17. Christine Nakamya (Entebbe Lady Swans) 18. Irene Nzige (Thunderbirds) 19. Christine Nakayiza (Thunderbirds) 20. Loy Mbabazi (Thunderbirds) 21. Teddy Iwutung (Thunderbirds) 22. Esther Tino (Mbale Eagles) 23.Joan Andika Mukoya (Thunderbirds) 24. Odoyi Mary Kyoita (Thunderbirds) 25. Agnes Nakuya (Thunderbirds) 26. Rosenberg Kanyunyuzi (Thunderbirds)
Head Coach:  Edgar Lemerigar 
Team manager: Racheal Babirye Kakaire
Physiotherapist: Nelson Mayeku

Kenya Lionesses Squad
 1. Juliet Nyambura (Northern Suburbs), 2. Imogen Hooper (Northern Suburbs), 3. Everlyne Kalimera (Stanbic Mwamba), 4. Mercy Migongo (Stanbic Mwamba)

HOOKERS: 5. Knight Otuoma (Kisumu RFC), 6. Staycy Atieno – (Stanbic Mwamba), 7. Victoria Gichure (Northern Suburbs)

LOCKS: 8. Millicent Opala (Menengai Cream Homeboyz), 9. Bernedatte Oleisia (Menengai Cream Homeboyz), 10. Enid Ouma (Menengai Cream Homeboyz)

BACK ROWS: 11. Emmaculate Owiro (Menengai Cream Homeboyz), 12. Mitchelle Akinyi (Impala Ladies), 13. Leah Wambui – Menengai Cream Homeboyz), 14. Janet Owino (Menengai Cream Homeboyz), 15. Naomi Amuguni – (Stanbic Mwamba)

HALFBACKS: 16. Irene Atieno (Menengai Cream Homeboyz), 17.  Veronicah Wanjiku (Top Fry Nakuru), 18.  Vivian Akumu (Top Fry Nakuru),19. Grace Adhiambo (Top Fry Nakuru)

CENTRES: 20. Philadelphia Orlando (Northern Suburbs), 21. Celestine Masinde (Stanbic Mwamba), 22. Sheila Chajira (Menengai Cream Homeboyz)

BACK THREE: 23. Diana Awino (Impala Ladies), 24. Stella Wafula (Impala Ladies), 25. Christabel Lindo (Impala Ladies), 26. Janet Okelo (Stanbic Mwamba)


RELATED:   Kama: Springbok Women hopeful about World Cup spot

Springbok Women’s squad for Africa Women’s Cup (in alphabetical order):

Celeste Adonis ,Karthy Dludla,Lusanda Dumke, Maxine Engelbrecht, Annique Geswind, Lindelwa Gwala, Aseza Hele, Onaka Jita,Zenay Jordaan, Tayla Kinsey, Sibabalwa Klaas, Babalwa Latsha, Ayanda Malinga, Vuyolwethu Maqholo, Sinazo Mcatshulwa, Rights Mkhari, Nomsa Mokwai, Zintle Mpupha, Zinhle Ndawonde, Aphiwe Ngwevu, Yonela Ngxingolo, Snenhlanhla Shozi, Mathrin Simmers, Sizophila Solontsi, Alida Bernice Strydom, Eloise Webb


Comment here