Core status is the goal for Uganda 7s

Uganda 7s will take to Hong Kong to participate in the qualifiers for World Series Core Status in April.

Owing to a third-place finish at the Africa 7s in Tunis, Uganda will now take part in the Hong Kong 7s, in the Qualifiers schedule with the goal of going forth to win it and become a World Series Core status team for the rugby calendar 2019-2020.

“Following the rugby sevens world cup and Africa 7s, a lot went amiss in 2018 and now we have 8 weeks to work and make sure we put up a better show,” said Coach Tolbert Onyango in an exclusive interview to Kratos Sports.

This being an Olympic qualification year, there is a common feeling that 7s rugby is going to precedent over 15s rugby as this is also a rugby world cup and Uganda failed to make even the repechage for a chance at RWC 2019 in Japan.

The team is already in camp, which will take about eight weeks as they get ready for Hong Kong 7s. Before flying to Hong Kong, the team will play an invitational tournament in Harare and get some competition and game time under their belts.

To add icing to the cake, Uganda 7s have acquired the services of former Kenya 7s strength and conditioning coach, Geoffrey Kimani, who has already hit the ground running. Kimani’s work will be supplemented with the fact that the team now have a new gym partner in Bodywise Fitness, in Bugolobi.

Bodywise Fitness, Bugolobi.

“The goal that the coach has set is the World Series and that is going to start with Hong Kong. We made the semi-finals in 2017 but we need to be better this year and go all the way,” said new S&C Coach Geoffrey Kimani.

“I have talked with the team, they are a young and motivated group. We have to be patient with them.”

The team trains every Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday; twice i.e. 6am and 6pm.

The team that was summoned (subject to change) and which will later be joined by Philip Wokorach and Aaron Ofoywroth:

Joseph Aredo, Adrian Kasito, Conrad Mukwaya, James Ijongat, Justin Kimono, Norbert Okeny, Romano Ucu, Timothy Odongo, William Nkore, Isaac Massa, Haruna Muhammad, Timothy Kisiga, Byron Oketayot, Michael Wokorach ©, Desire Ayera, Ian Munyani.